Communications Commission

The Communications Commission is comprised of seven commissioners and two alternate commissioners.  Their primary function is to assist with disseminating information to the citizens of Oakland.  They oversee the various committees that operate the various aspects of the Borough's communication with Borough residents.

Underneath the Commission, there are several committees. The Oakland Television Committee operates the Borough's Local Access Television Station (Channel 77 on Cablevision and Channel 45 on FiOS), and use it to broadcast Mayor and Council meetings, community announcements as well as various community events. The Newsletter Committee publishes the newsletter for the residents of Oakland. The Bulletin Board Committee is responsible for updating the announcements and news that is posted onto the cable TV channel. The Website & Social Media Committee runs the Borough's social media accounts and has a role in the Borough's website.

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer, click here!

Contact the Oakland Communications Commission


Committee TitleCommissioner Liaison
Oakland Television CommitteeJim Barry
Borough Newsletter CommitteeLiz Llorente
Bulletin Board CommitteeSalma Shamy
Website & Social Media CommitteeAlex McVeigh
Borough Council LiaisonGrant Van Eck

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Michael Carelli Assistant to the Administrator (201) 337-8111 ext. 2026

Oakland Communications Commission

Name Title
Ryan Schwertfeger Chairman
Elizabeth Llorente Vice-Chairwoman & Newsletter Committee Chairwoman
Jim Barry Oakland Television Committee Chairman
David Dorsey Commissioner
Andrea Levy Commissioner
Alex McVeigh Website & Social Media Committee Chairman
Patricia Carrera Alternate Commissioner #1
Salma Shamy Alternate Commissioner #2